Spicy Apple Chutney

Since I have clearly been slacking on posting my recipes, I’m going to try to jump back on the saddle with them all.  I have still been cooking a good bit!! I just have been a tad bit busy (or lazy) on my postings (sorry guysssss).  I digress…  So this recipe I actually have used in a few different ways and it is absolutely delish!  For my moms birthday, I toasted baguette slices, smeared some goat cheese on them, and then topped with this apple chutney (picture above).  I have also used this to top some pork chops recently (which were absolutely amazing).  You could easily use this on top of crackers and cream cheese for any type of party.  It’s super versatile which is one of the reasons I love it so so much!  It’s also incredibly tasty.  You get a little sweet, a little spicy; just all around wonderful.

What You’ll Need
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup rice vinegar
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 1/2 cinnamon stick (or 1 tbsp cinnamon if you don’t have any sticks)
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 lb apples, peeled cored and chopped finely
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped finely

How To Do It
In a medium-sized saucepan, add the sugar and vinegar.  Stir until all the sugar is dissolved.  Add all spices and simmer until reduced about half a cup (approx 8 min).  Add in chopped apples and jalapeno.  Increase the heat to high and boil until the apples are tender (approx 10 min).  Remove from heat and cool to room temperature.  You can store cold for up to 3 days.

Leave a Reply

