Prayerfully Yours

To state the painfully obvious, today is the dreaded election day.  I have debated posting something about this for a couple of weeks now.  Clearly, I’m not gung-ho for any of the candidates.  I despise how a right that should be heralded has turned into a trashy reality TV show (y’all I watch the Kardashians and enjoy it, so this is saying a lot).  I was talking to my younger sister this weekend at my parents house.  This will be the first presidential election that she is old enough to vote in, and she does not even want to participate.  I, myself, was extremely close to not forcing myself to pick between the two evils.  She was telling me how she really, really hated how this ‘thing’ she had been looking forward to her entire life has become such a ridiculous display.  It is so true too!!  I am saddened for the younger generation that see this and believe this is how things work in this country.  Regardless of which candidate you support, the “system” has seemed to fail this time around.

The last couple of days, I have opted to forego any sort of news output.  News on the TV and radio, internet sites that might contain more drama-filled articles, and primarily Facebook.  It has just become way too much.  I know myself along with many others simply cannot wait for all this nonsense to finally have an end.  Either outcome, one thing will remain, we seriously need all of God’s blessings and glory upon our nation in this time.  It used to be “One nation under God,” but now it seems that it is “One divided nation under many different people because we can’t say God’s name in case it might offend somebody.”  I am not one to push my belief’s on anybody else.  Each person has their own right to form their own opinion.  Luckily, we have that constitutional right here in America, and most people forget it is a right, not a requirement.

As my right, I choose to lift it all up to God.  I prayed prior to casting my vote, that I was following what God would want me to do.  I was voting through his will, and his will only.  At the end of the day, it does not matter who wins the election.  It truly, truly does not, and as of right now, only one person knows what the outcome will be.  He has already chosen a candidate to win.  He has already decided our country’s fate.  He has already planned out not only the next year, but the rest of eternity.  Instead of worrying and dreading who will or will not be chosen, I choose instead to trust in God’s plan.  I trust that he will take care of me and my family.  I trust that if his plan is not what I would prefer, there is a very good reason for it.   I will pray for those voting today, and that they also vote according to what God would want.  I will pray for all those involved in the electoral college, that they would not be swayed easily.  I will pray for all members of our government, that they will choose to lead by God’s will, and I will pray for the candidates and their families, that they will find peace with whatever decision is made.  I will also pray that our next President of the United States will lead with God in mind.  Because at the end of the day, all I can really do is pray.

“Do not be anxious about anythings, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
-Philippians 4:6-7

Leave a Reply

