#Movie Marathon -Pinocchio

Pinocchio was next on my Marathon list, and holy moses this one totally topped Snow White in the “scare” factor.  I’m still trying to figure out how exactly this is considered a kid’s film.  I remember maybe watching it once or twice as a child, and my parents most definitely had a good reason behind that.  This movie is CREEPY to the max.  Basically the whole thing.  The Blue Fairy is decent, and Jiminy Cricket is an icon, but, beyond that, I would be okay with never watching this film again.

Turns out Disney actually upped the budget for this film by almost $1 million.  The budget for Pinocchio in today’s money would be a little bit over $39 million, which is quite a good chunk of change, and y’all the movie is awful!  It didn’t come close to making even a quarter of what Snow White made.  I’ve watched a few Walt Disney biographies, and I know during this time Walt was actually already pretty focused on Fantasia, so Pinocchio kind of slid by a little, but, again, not a kids movie.

NOT NORMAL KIDS MOVIE MATERIAL

I do feel like the overall animation of this film was a tad better than Snow White, so there is some improvement.  There are a few good “lessons” in this movie too: Follow your dreams, Let your conscience be your guide, Don’t lie or your nose will grow, Don’t run away from home and drink alcohol and smoke cigars as a child because you might turn into a donkey and be hauled off and sold as slaves…  The usual lessons in Disney movies, right?  I’m still trying to figure out why Geppetto would think that Pinocchio ran off into the ocean, and the best way to find him is to go out to sea in the middle of  a terrible storm with a cat, and then get eaten by the most frightening whale I have ever seen in my life.  Most of this movie truly just did not make any sense at all.  I almost felt like they were trying WAY too hard to push WAY too many different messages throughout the film.  The “Bad Guys” are all absolutely terrifying, and Jiminy Cricket is the worst conscience I have ever seen.  I mean, really, who just loses a walking, talking puppet at all, much less more than once!  The whole movie Jiminy spends essentially searching for a lost Pinocchio.  I think watching this film would actually be a good form of punishment for misbehaving children.  I do have to note that one of the best Disney songs ever came from the movie though (Quite possibly the only good thing).  ‘When you wish upon a star’ will always be one of my absolute favorites!

Anddddddd next will be Fantasia!  I do not actually think I’ve ever watched the entire movie before.  Only ever seen bits and pieces, so I’m excited to watch it!

When you wish upon a star
Makes no difference who you are
Anything your heart desires will come to you.”
-Jiminy Cricket

mimks-p

 

 

Leave a Reply

