#MovieMarathon – Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

I finally started the Disney Marathon!!!!!  So of course  I had to start with the first Disney Animated Film, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.  I remember watching this movie as a kid. I’m pretty sure I was Snow White for Halloween one year.  It was definitely not the first time I had seen it, but I had not watched it in quite some time.

snow_white_and_the_seven_dwarfs_original_theatrical_trailer_2_1937_la_blancaneu-ogv

A little background, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs was first shown at the Carthay Circle Theater in Los Angeles on December 21, 1937 to VERY pleased viewers.  It was the first full length movie to use the cel film animation technique, and it was Walt Disney’s baby (besides Mickey Mouse, of course).  It received 1 normal sized honorary Oscar and 7 dwarf sized honorary Oscars at the 11th Academy Awards.  It was released worldwide on February 4, 1938.  Over its lifetime the film has made $418,200,000.  Adjusted for inflation, this totals to $6,977,634,568, which totally puts it in much better perspective.  Being that this was the first full length animated film, making that amount of money, Walt Disney clearly hit a gold mine.  Snow White is still listed as one of the top 10 money-making films in America.

This movie is not for the weak of heart.  Clearly times have changed since it was created, but this movie is actually kinda extremely freaky.  The queen wanting the Hunter to carve out Snow White’s beating heart isn’t even the worst part.  I had to cover both my and Cooper’s eyes when those trees became alive and Snow White gets lost in the EXTREMELY creepy forest.  I do not know how I watched this as a child.

Tell me how this is NOT frightening.

It’s even more weird as an adult watching this movie, and noting that this young woman just happens to find a cottage in the middle of the woods and then STAYS when these 7 creepy short men show up.  Pretty sure that was the exact opposite of everything my mother ever taught me to do growing up.  It is amazing to me how Disney had not yet figured out the animals should talk.  Yet, somehow, Snow White was still able to convince them to help her with the housework and cooking.  No matter how much I sing in my kitchen/house, that never ends up happening.  Even Cooper generally runs away and hides somewhere instead of being helpful.

All in all Snow White has never been one of my favorite movies.  It’s pretty fricken weird and creepy and just all around odd.  The whole 80 year time difference thing probably has everything to do with it.  I still will always feel obliged to watch it though because it was made by the one and only Walt Disney, also it has some pretty awesome music.  I actually listened to Heigh Ho on my drive to work a couple of days ago, so at least that came from it!  “Someday my Prince will Come” is also pretty inspirational, and “Whistle While you Work” is just a classic awesome Disney song.

Next up is Pinocchio!  If I remember correctly, this one is also slightly terrifying.  I believe I’m beginning to see a pattern here…

“What do you do when things go wrong? Oh, you sing a song.”
                                          -Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

snow-white-and-the-seven-dwarfs-di-13

Leave a Reply

