Pumpkin Scones – Take 1

So generally my time spent in the kitchen is spent actually cooking.  Baking is NOT my strong suit.  Lately, though, I have been binge watching MasterChef Junior, and something about watching a bunch of 8 to 12 year old’s produce these amazing dishes has changed how I view my “kitchen expertise.”  Basically, I want to learn it all.  So the last few weeks I’ve been trying to practice baking different things, and I have actually learned a few new things:

  1. Baking is MESSY.  When I cook, I generally keep a pretty clean kitchen and clean as I go.  When I bake, everything I know about keeping clean goes straight out the window.  I’ll have flour floating through the air like snowflakes landing all over my counters.  For some reason, I just can never keep everything in the bowl while stirring.  Clearly, my coordination skills are lacking.
  2. It is very hard to tell when your baked good is actually finished baking in the oven.  Unlike cooking, you can’t really squeeze your dessert to tell if it’s done in the middle or not.  Basically, I just took the things out hoping and praying they were cooked correctly.
  3. You should make sure you KNOW what you are actually baking.  About halfway into making these scones, I realized I actually have never had a scone before.  I just thought they were supposed to be similar to croissants.  So imagine my slight panic when I pull these puppies out and they all look like triangle-shaped biscuits….  A quick phone call to my Nana, and I learned that scones are actually more like biscuits, so I was succeeding (surprisingly, YAY)!
  4. I should also add that I was making these to bring to work for our potluck breakfast for one of our owner’s birthdays… nbd… So the pressure to make sure nobody died from eating these was unfortunately high.

All in all the scones actually turned out AMAZING, and yet again I was making a mountain of a mole hill for absolutely no good reason.  I should remember more often that I am awesome, and to not second guess myself (although this is a good thing to do occasionally).  And simply because I wouldn’t just tease you guys with a story and some pictures, the recipe is below!!  I doubled the recipe and made smaller circles out of the dough, so I could yield more scones, although they were baby sized. Please Please Please try these out and let me know what you think!!! Because I actually was pretty amazed by them….

Pumpkin Scones with Maple-Cinnamon Glaze

Total Time: 2 Hours  Yield: 16 scones

Ingredients
Scones:
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom (you can sub cinnamon)
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups pastry flour, plus more for dusting
6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
Maple-Cinnamon Glaze:
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
Pinch cinnamon

Directions
For the scones: In a medium bowl, combine the sugar, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, cardamom (cinnamon), coriander and salt. Add 2 cups of the flour. Cut in the butter using a bowl scraper until the mixture resembles a coarse meal. In a separate bowl, combine the pumpkin, egg, and milk. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet mixture. Fold until just combined.  Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth, 5 to 7 times. Half the dough and form into 2 flat discs. Cut the disc like a pie into eight pieces and place on a parchment-lined sheet. Bake until golden brown, 12 to 15 minutes. Let cool on the baking sheet.
For the maple glaze: In a medium bowl, stir together the confectioners’ sugar, maple syrup and cinnamon. Cover with a damp towel until you are ready to use. Dip the top of each scone in the glaze, letting any excess glaze drip back into the bowl. Place on a cooling rack.

Credit: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/finalist-damaris-phillips/pumpkin-scones-with-maple-cinnamon-glaze.html?soc=socialfnvideo

 

Leave a Reply

