My All Hallows Eve

I have never been a fan of Halloween.  Even growing up, I was never that into it.  The scary movies and people dressed in costumes, I just do not fully understand the allure of paying somebody money to be scared out of your mind in a haunted house.  I don’t watch scary movies because I have been plagued with nightmares my entire life.  The Great Mouse Detective is about as scary as I can get and still have a good nights sleep.  I do enjoy carving pumpkins, but that is pretty much it.  10518837_10203322489246078_4280092586229398038_n(You can see my clever sarcasm.)

Recently, I’ve been wondering why on earth would we have this huge world-wide “holiday” of people running around being scared.  So, naturally, I decided to do a little more digging into the origins and meaning of Halloween.  What really is this holiday and why was it started? I’ve always known the Mexican origins for Halloween or Dia de Muertos.  Really I learned about it from Miranda on Lizzie McGuire.  Only one of the best episodes of the series.  Disney doesn’t make shows like this anymore.mcguire1

  I digress…  So it turns out in other countries, Halloween or All Hallows Eve is celebrated as a national day of remembrance for those who have passed on to paradise.  Halloween was NOT originally a Pagan thing; it actually was a very religious and Christian holiday to simply remember our loved ones and the good they did while on this Earth.  WHY IS THIS NOT TAUGHT IN AMERICA!  Why on earth did we Americans have to turn such an amazing thing into a commercialized scare-fest filled with candy?!  Maybe the original intention by God for Halloween was to take a minute to reflect on our loved ones, and remember them prior to the things to come in November and December.  Maybe All Hallows Eve was meant as a time of reflection and preparation for both Thanksgiving and Christmas.  This month we spend time in remembrance, so next month we are able to spend extra time being grateful for all we do have and all we have been promised. Come December that promise is fulfilled with the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  I’m honestly still trying to figure out where the costumes and candy come into play, but the nonsensical and unnecessary amount of scary involved in the New Halloween is just something I don’t think I will ever be able to participate in.  Rather than that, I will spend All Hallows Eve in remembrance and reflection of my loved ones who I absolutely cannot wait to see again.

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”   – Romans 12:2

Leave a Reply

